Temple de Dhakeshwari, Dhaka

Statue de la déesse Durga tuant un être démoniaque et mythologique, Temple de Dhakeshwari, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Statue de la déesse Durga tuant un mythologique démoniaque
étant, temple Dhakeshwari, Dhaka, Bangladesh (Élargir)

Dhakeshwari, qui signifie «déesse de Dhaka», est le principal temple hindou du Bangladesh. L'année 1966 a commencé à s'appeler Dhakeshwari Jatiya Mandir, à la suite d'une campagne menée par des groupes hindous du Bangladesh qui demandaient la reconnaissance officielle à la suite de la déclaration de l'islam comme religion d'État dans 1988. Il appartient à l'État et lui confère la particularité d'être le temple national du Bangladesh.
Selon la légende, Dhakeshwari a été construit au 12ème siècle par le roi Ballal Sen de la dynastie Sena. Il est dit que le roi rêvait d'une statue de la déesse Durga enterrée dans la jungle et après l'avoir trouvée, elle l'avait installée dans son temple sous le nom de Dhakeshwari. Le style architectural actuel du temple ne peut toutefois pas être daté du 12e siècle en raison des nombreuses rénovations, réparations et reconstructions qui ont eu lieu au fil du temps. Le temple actuel a deux cents ans et a été construit par un agent de la Compagnie des Indes orientales, bien que ce dernier se soit sans doute contenté de rénover le temple existant. C'est une structure à trois pièces avec une véranda à l'avant et de belles portes en bois sculptées. Dans le coin nord-est du complexe se trouvent quatre petits temples de Shiva construits au XNUXe siècle par le roi Mansing. Le temple Dhakeshwari est ouvert tous les jours et les gens de toutes les religions sont les bienvenus.

Sanctuaires de Shiva, temple Dhakeshwari, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Sanctuaires de Shiva, temple Dhakeshwari, Dhaka, Bangladesh (Élargir)

Certaines personnes considèrent le temple Dhakeshwari comme l’un des Shakti Pithas, où le joyau de la couronne de la déesse Sati était tombé. Bien que la vérité de ceci soit inconnue, le temple a été fortement vénéré pendant des centaines d'années. La statue originale de Durga, vieille de 800, a été transportée à Kumartuli, Kolkata, dans le Bengale occidental, en Inde, mais une réplique de cette statue est toujours conservée à Dhakeswari.

Le temple Dhakeshwari a été gravement endommagé lors de la guerre de libération du Bangladesh par 1971 et plus de la moitié des bâtiments du temple ont été détruits. L'armée pakistanaise a pris le contrôle de la salle de culte principale et l'a utilisée comme zone de stockage de munitions. Le temple a encore été endommagé lors des attaques de la foule musulmane de 1989 – 92. Une partie importante des terres du temple a été perdue à cause de la loi sur les biens acquis et de la confiscation par le gouvernement du Bangladesh, et les locaux actuels sont considérablement plus petits que la portée historique du bien.

Le temple Dhakeshwari est une plaque tournante d’activités socioculturelles et religieuses. Chaque année, la grande fête de Durga Puja (l'événement le plus important du calendrier bengali hindou) à Dhaka se tient au temple. Plusieurs milliers de fidèles et de spectateurs (y compris les musulmans) traversent les locaux où on leur offre du Prasad (nourriture - généralement du riz et des lentilles). Durga Puja se termine au bout de cinq jours. Les idoles de Durga et de ses quatre enfants, Lakshmi, Saraswati, Kartik et Ganesh, sont emmenées en procession dans le temple pour être immergées dans le fleuve ou la mer. UNE Bijaya Sammelani programme culturel se déroule quelques jours après l’achèvement de Durga Puja sur le terrain de parade adjacent. C’est également un événement culturel majeur du calendrier de Dhaka, qui attire régulièrement certains des plus grands artistes de la musique et du cinéma de Dhaka.

L'un des événements les plus importants de l'année est la procession Janmashthami qui part du temple Dhakeshwari et se poursuit dans les rues du vieux Dacca; cela se produit le jour de l'anniversaire de Lord Krishna, qui est également un jour férié au Bangladesh et le deuxième rang parmi les priorités de Durga Puja dans le calendrier bengali. La procession remonte à 1902, mais a été arrêtée à la suite de la création du Pakistan et des attaques qui ont suivi par des foules musulmanes à Dhaka. La procession a été reprise en 1948.

Au cours des siècles précédents, des festivals ont également eu lieu au cours du mois de Chaitra dans le complexe du temple (dans les calendriers indiens et tamouls de l'Inde, Chaitra est le premier mois de l'année, dans les calendriers bengali et népalais, il est considéré comme le dernier mois et, selon le calendrier grégorien, il commence en mars ou avril).

Dhaka, anciennement orthographié Dhaka en anglais, est la capitale et l'une des plus anciennes villes du Bangladesh. L’histoire de Dhaka commence avec l’existence de colonies urbanisées dans la région de Dacca, qui date du 7ème siècle de notre ère. La région de la ville fut gouvernée par le royaume bouddhiste de Kamarupa avant de passer sous le contrôle de la dynastie Sena au 9ème siècle de notre ère. Après la dynastie des Sena, Dhaka fut successivement dirigée par les gouverneurs turcophones et afghans, descendants du sultanat de Delhi avant l’arrivée des Mughals à 1608. Après les Moghols, les Britanniques ont dirigé la région pendant plus de 150 jusqu'à l'indépendance de l'Inde. En 1947, Dhaka est devenue la capitale de la province du Bengale oriental sous la domination du Pakistan. Après l'indépendance du Bangladesh dans 1971, Dhaka est devenue la capitale du nouvel État.

Il y a différentes théories concernant l'origine du nom Dhaka. Le premier est que le nom est venu après la création du temple de la déesse Dhakeshwari par Raja Ballal Sea au 12ème siècle. Un autre vient du Rajatarangini texte, écrit par un brahmane du Cachemiri nommé Kalhana. Il dit que la région était à l'origine connue comme Dhaka. Le mot Dhaka veux dire tour de guet. Bikrampur et Sonargaon - les anciens fiefs des dirigeants du Bengale se trouvaient à proximité. Donc, Dhaka était probablement utilisée comme tour de guet pour leurs fortifications.

Statue, Shiva, temple dhakeshwari, dhaka, bangladesh
Statue de Shiva, temple Dhakeshwari, Dhaka, Bangladesh (Élargir)




Temple de Dhakeshwari, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Places ofPeace and PowerPeace and Power

Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka

Statue of the goddess Durga killing a demonic mythological being, Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Statue of the goddess Durga killing a demonic mythological
being, Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka, Bangladesh (Enlarge)

Dhakeshwari, meaning 'Goddess of Dhaka' is the primary Hindu temple in Bangladesh. In the year 1966 it began to be called Dhakeshwari Jatiya Mandir, the result of a campaign by Bangladeshi Hindu groups who had been demanding official recognition following the declaration of Islam as the state religion in 1988. It is state-owned, giving it the distinction of being Bangladesh's National Temple.
According to legend Dhakeshwari was built in the 12th century by King Ballal Sen of the Sena dynasty. It is said the king dreamt of a statue of the goddess Durga buried in the jungle and after finding the statue installed it in his temple as Dhakeshwari. The current architectural style of the temple cannot, however, be dated to the 12th century because of the numerous renovations, repairs and rebuildings that have taken place over time. The present temple is two hundred years old and was built by an agent of the East India Company, though quite probably the agent merely renovated the existing temple. It is a three-roomed structure with a veranda in front and has beautiful wooden doors with carvings. In the northeastern corner of the complex are four small Shiva temples constructed in the 16th century by King Mansing. The Dhakeshwari temple is open everyday and people from all religions are welcome.

Shiva shrines, Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Shiva shrines, Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka, Bangladesh (Enlarge)

Some people consider Dhakeshwari temple to be one of the Shakti Pithas, where the jewel from the crown of the Goddess Sati had fallen. While the truth of this is unknown, the temple has been highly venerated for many hundreds of years. The original 800-year-old statue of Durga was taken to Kumartuli, Kolkata in West Bengal, India but a replica of that statue is still held at Dhakeswari.

The Dhakeshwari Temple was severely damaged during the 1971 Bangladesh Liberation War, and over half of the temple's buildings were destroyed. The main worship hall was taken over by the Pakistan Army and used as an ammunitions storage area. The temple was further damaged during the Muslim mob attacks of 1989–92. A significant portion of the temple land has been lost due to the Vested Property Act and confiscation by the Bangladesh Government, and the current premises are considerably smaller than the historic reach of the property.

The Dhakeshwari Temple is a hub of socio-cultural as well as religious activity. Each year, the large celebration of Durga Puja (the most important event in the Bengali Hindu calendar) in Dhaka is held at the temple. Several thousand worshippers and onlookers (including Muslims) stream through the premises where they are offered Prasad (food – usually rice and lentils). Durga Puja comes to an end after five days, with the idols of Durga and her four children Lakshmi, Saraswati, Kartik and Ganesh taken in processions from the temple for immersion in river or sea. A Bijaya Sammelani cultural program takes place in the adjoining parade ground a few days after Durga Puja is complete, and it is also a major cultural event in the Dhaka calendar, regularly attracting some of the top performers from the Dhaka music and film industry.

One of the most important events of the year is the Janmashthami procession which starts from Dhakeshwari temple and then proceeds through the streets of Old Dhaka; this occurs on the day of Lord Krishna's birthday, which is also a public holiday in Bangladesh and second only to Durga Puja in importance in the Bengali calendar. The procession dates back to 1902 but was stopped in 1948 following the establishment of Pakistan and subsequent attacks by Muslim mobs in Dhaka. The procession was resumed in 1989.

In previous centuries, festivals also happened during the month of Chaitra in the temple complex (In India's Hindu and Tamil calendars, Chaitra is the first month of the year, in the Bengali and Nepalese calendars it is considered the last month, and according to the Gregorian calendar it commences in March or April).

Dhaka, formerly spelled as Dacca in English, is the capital and one of the oldest cities of Bangladesh. The history of Dhaka begins with the existence of urbanized settlements in the area that is now Dhaka dating from the 7th century CE. The city area was ruled by the Buddhist kingdom of Kamarupa before passing to the control of the Sena dynasty in the 9th century CE. After the Sena dynasty, Dhaka was successively ruled by the Turkic and Afghan governors descending from the Delhi Sultanate before the arrival of the Mughals in 1608. After the Mughals, the British ruled the region for over 150 years until the independence of India. In 1947, Dhaka became the capital of the East Bengal province under the dominion of Pakistan. Following the independence of Bangladesh in 1971, Dhaka became the capital of the new state.

There are different theories regarding the origin of the name Dhaka. One is that the name came following the establishment of the Dhakeshwari Goddess temple by Raja Ballal Sea in the 12th century. Another comes from the Rajatarangini text, written by a Kashmiri Brahman named Kalhana. It says the region was originally known as Dhaka. The word Dhaka means watchtower. Bikrampur and Sonargaon — the earlier strongholds of Bengal rulers were situated nearby. So Dhaka was likely used as the watchtower for their fortifications.

Shiva statue, Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Shiva statue, Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka, Bangladesh (Enlarge)




Dhakeshwari Temple, Dhaka, Bangladesh